Twin Bred – Ebook Giveaway

Today’s book is Twin-Bred by Karen A. Wyle.

Can interspecies diplomacy begin in the womb?

Humans have lived on Tofarn, planet of creeks and rivers, for seventy years, but they still don’t understand the Tofa. The Tofa are an enigma, from their featureless faces to the four arms that sometimes seem to be five. They take arbitrary umbrage at the simplest human activities, while annoying their human neighbors in seemingly pointless ways. The next infuriating, inexplicable incident may explode into war.

Scientist Mara Cadell’s radical proposal: that host mothers carry fraternal twins, human and Tofa, in the hope that the bond between twins can bridge the gap between species. Mara knows about the bond between twins: her own twin, Levi, died in utero, but she has secretly kept him alive in her mind as companion and collaborator.

Perhaps Mara should have expected the enigmatic Tofa to have their own reasons to support her project. Perhaps the ever-cynical Levi should have warned her that members of the human government might use her twins as weapons against the Tofa. Will the Twin-Bred bring peace, war, or something else entirely?

Science fiction with a sociological and psychological focus, TWIN-BRED follows in the footsteps of Ursula K. LeGuin’s The Left Hand of Darkness and Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow.

What was the first science fiction novel you read?

I plan on giving away a book a week this year, but none of them will be my own. Why? Well, I believe in helping introduce people to new authors and nothing does that like FREE! The contests will be as simple as leaving a comment on the blog, or showing me that you’ve left a review on Amazon or Smashwords of books you’ve picked up in the past. I’ll try and change things up to keep them interesting, but by and large you won’t have to work hard.

If you’re an author and you’d like to pitch your hat into the ring, let me know. I’m not asking you to give me anything for free. I plan on buying your e-book from Amazon/Smashwords as a gift for the winner. So in addition to you getting your name out there, you’ll also get a sale for the contest. The most I can budget per week is $2.99, so if you have a book in the $.99-$2.99 price range let me know. I reserve the right to turn you down, but I will try and do so gently. I’d like to have a variety of genres represented.

If you have a free book and would like me to just get the word out I can do that, but you won’t be part of my contest. If your book is more expensive and you would like to donate a copy, that works too.

Shoot me an e-mail, a DM, or leave me a comment to enter your book.

2 comments

  1. The first sci-fi novel I ever read? That’s a seriously tough question. I think it was probably A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L’Engle. I know some people throw that in with Fantasy, but it really is chalk full of sciencey things. That book is probably responsible for many, many girls and women being initiated into Science Fiction, but it’s definitely not restricted to the female gender. Such a great book. I hope I can get my own kids to read it soon!

    1. Yeah this one’s tougher for me than Fantasy as I’ve always been a bigger fan of SF. It was probably one of Bradbury’s books.

Leave a Reply

